I Play All Games From Characters in Super Smash Bros. Ultimate

For some unknown reason, besides that I want to catch up on games and the fact that obsessive is my personality type, I have decided to play a ton of Nintendo games. More specifically, I will be playing games from the character’s that are in the Super Smash Bros. Ultimate. That means every Mario, Zelda, Metroid (and so on) game. I have made a few cuts, like there will be no spin-off Pokemon games. I have added a few games, mostly with Mario, where I will play all the platformers along with RPGs, Sports, Karts, Party and the Mario vs. Donkey Kong games. Also, if they are not available on a Nintendo system, I don’t have to play them. So, Persona and Metal Gear only get a few games even though there are dozens of games for both series. Older, less goal heavy games like Duck Hunt and Ice Climbers will most likely not be played. This post will be the master list of games and series and will be updated when the seemingly infinite number of players are added to Ultimate. I will review as many as I can and be as diverse as I can. Luckily, this endeavor is a wildly expensive one so some games like the GameCube Fire Emblem will take a while to save up for and the early Final Fantasy games will be hard to even obtain. Even crazier, I have decided to beat, that is right BEAT all the games. That just means getting to the main goal, most of the games it will be when the credits role. If I want to dive into the extra content that is fully up to me. If I am missing any need-to-play games, please let me know and I will consider it for the list. Anyways, here is the master list. Any game with a link will lead to a review.

 

There are seven different Mario series here and they are represented by nine characters in Smash Bros. They are Mario, Luigi, Peach, Daisy, Bowser, Dr. Mario, Roselaina, Bowser Jr. and Piranha Plant

SUPER MARIO (PLATFORMERS)

smb3

First off is the most influential games on the list and that is Mario platformers. This category is my most loved, especially the 3D ones. The rest of the series represented in the whole list I have played a few here and there. Mario platformers, I have played most of. They will be the easiest to play and I’ll eventually review them.

  1. Super Mario Bros.
  2. Super Mario Bros.: The Lost Levels
  3. Super Mario Bros. 2
  4. Super Mario Bros. 3
  5. Super Mario Land
  6. Super Mario World
  7. Super Mario Land 2: 6 Golden Coins
  8. Super Mario 64
  9. Super Mario Sunshine
  10. New Super Mario Bros.
  11. Super Mario Galaxy
  12. New Super Mario Bros. Wii
  13. Super Mario Galaxy 2
  14. Super Mario 3D Land
  15. New Super Mario Bros. 2
  16. New Super Mario Bros. U
  17. Super Mario 3D World
  18. Super Mario Odyssey

MARIO RPG

m and l dt

Next on the list of many, many Mario franchises is one I have literally played none of before this task I put on myself. For now I am dabbling in the Paper Mario series. I am excited to play most of these because they seem to have great gameplay, as well as be consistently hilarious.

  1. Super Mario RPG: Legend of the Seven Stars
  2. Paper Mario
  3. Mario & Luigi: Superstar Saga
  4. Paper Mario: The Thousand Year Door
  5. Mario & Luigi: Partners in Time
  6. Mario & Luigi: Bowser’s Inside Story
  7. Super Paper Mario
  8. Mario & Luigi: Dream Team
  9. Paper Mario Sticker Star
  10. Mario & Luigi: Paper Jam
  11. Paper Mario Color Splash
  12. Mario + Rabbids Kingdom Battle

MARIO KART

mk8

I decided to split up the Kart series and all the sports games with Mario’s name on it. Always a favorite of mine. Mario Kart 64 was one of the first games I ever played, so this one is near and dear to my heart.

  1. Super Mario Kart
  2. Mario Kart 64
  3. Super Circuit
  4. Double Dash
  5. Mario Kart DS
  6. Mario Kart Wii
  7. Mario Kart 7
  8. Mario Kart 8

MARIO (SPORTS GAMES)

sm strikers

Next are the sports games which I have dabbled in, but never really got into. There is just so many games in this category that I could not help but add it. I decided to add the Mario & Sonic at the Olympics just because Sonic is a Smash Bro character and I thought it would be funny.

  1. Mario Golf
  2. Mario Tennis
  3. Mario Golf Toadstool Tour
  4. Mario Golf Advance Tour
  5. Mario Power Tennis
  6. Mario Tennis: Power Tour
  7. Mario Superstar Baseball
  8. Hoops 3 on 3
  9. Mario & Sonic at the Olympic Games
  10. Mario & Sonic at the Winter Games
  11. Super Mario Strikers
  12. Mario Strikers Charged
  13. Mario Super Sluggers
  14. Mario Sports Mix
  15. Mario & Sonic at the London 2012 Games
  16. Mario Tennis Open
  17. Mario Golf World Tour
  18. Mario & Sonic at the Sochi 2014 Games
  19. Mario Tennis Ultra Smash
  20. Mario & Sonic at the Rio 2016 Games
  21. Mario Sports Superstars
  22. Mario Tennis Aces

MARIO PARTY

mario p 5

Mario Party is fun. Why not add it on here? I am including a couple of the handheld ones because I was curious how those work.

  1. Mario Party
  2. Mario Party 2
  3. Mario Party 3
  4. Mario Party Advanced
  5. Mario Party 4
  6. Mario Party 5
  7. Mario Party 6
  8. Mario Party 7
  9. Mario Party DS
  10. Mario Party 8
  11. Mario Party 9
  12. Mario Party Island Tour
  13. Mario Party 10
  14. Super Mario Party

MARIO VS. DONKEY KONG

m vs dk

Next up I decided to add the Mario vs. Donkey Kong games. This whole thing basically started with the original Arcade Donkey Kong game, but I don’t really want to play it because it will just repeat over and over. However I do want to have it represented here and the perfect game for that, is the Game Boy version of it that has over 100 levels of Mario trying to get to Pauline who has been captured by Donkey Kong. This is a wonderful puzzle type game and I can’t wait to play the rest.

  1. Donkey Kong (94)
  2. Mario vs. Donkey Kong
  3. Mario vs. Donkey Kong 2: March of the Mini’s
  4. Mario vs. Donkey Kong: MiniLand Mayhem
  5. Mario vs. Donkey Kong: Tipping Stars

LUIGI’S MANSION

luigis m

That is it for the Mario series, unless you count a dark horse in classic Nintendo series. The Luigi’s Mansion games are one of the most beloved and at the same time underrated games in the mario series.

  1. Luigi’s Mansion
  2. Luigi’s Mansion Dark Moon
  3. Luigi’s Mansion 3

DONKEY KONG

dkc tf

Next up is the Donkey Kong series (I am going in order of how the characters were released in the game) which I have played about half of. They are represented by Donkey Kong, Diddy Kong and King K. Rool. Another great platformer. I have added a few games like the DS puzzle games and Diddy Kong Racing out of curiosity again.

  1. Donkey Kong Country
  2. Donkey Kong Land
  3. Donkey Kong Country 2: Diddy Kong’s Quest
  4. Donkey Kong Land 2
  5. Donkey Kong Country 3: Dixie Kong’s Double Trouble
  6. Donkey Kong Land III
  7. Diddy Kong Racing
  8. Donkey Kong 64
  9. DK: King of Swing
  10. Donkey Kong Jungle Beat
  11. DK Jungle Climber
  12. Donkey Kong Barrel Blast
  13. Donkey Kong Country Returns
  14. Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze

THE LEGEND OF ZELDA

loz oot

Next is The Legend of Zelda franchise, which I am very good at starting and very good at getting stuck in. This might be the one I need the most help in. I love the monsters and the boss fights, but always get stuck at some point. That is why I love Breath of the Wild, if I get stuck I could just move on to another task. I am excited to play through the history of it. This series is represented by Ganondorf, Sheik, Zelda and three versions of Link; Toon, Young and Original flavor.

  1. The Legend of Zelda
  2. Zelda II: The Adventures of Link
  3. The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past
  4. The Legend of Zelda: Link’s Awakening
  5. The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time
  6. The Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask
  7. The Legend of Zelda: Oracle of Ages
  8. The Legend of Zelda: Oracle of Seasons
  9. The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker
  10. The Legend of Zelda: The Minish Cap
  11. The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess
  12. The Legend of Zelda: Phantom Hourglass
  13. The Legend of Zelda: Spirit Tracks
  14. The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword
  15. The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds
  16. The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild

METROID

s metroid

Metroid is a game series where I have only played the 3D outings. The first Metroid Prime is one of my favorite games of all time. I am excited to play the others. The characters here are as follows; Samus, Dark Samus, Zero Suit Samus and Ridley.

  1. Metroid
  2. Super Metroid
  3. Metroid Fusion
  4. Metroid Prime
  5. Metroid Prime 2: Echoes
  6. Metroid Prime Hunters
  7. Metroid Prime 3 Corruption
  8. Metroid Other M
  9. Metroid: Samus Returns

YOSHI

y ww

I have only played the later Yoshi games and it seems like they are all very similar. I am okay with that though because they all seem adorable and a ton of fun. He is one of two characters to be a game series that started as a Mario sequel. Only Yoshi is a part of this group.

  1. Super Mario World 2: Yoshi’s World
  2. Yoshi’s Story
  3. Yoshi Topsy-Turvy
  4. Yoshi Touch & Go
  5. Yoshi’s Island DS
  6. Yoshi’s New Island
  7. Yoshi’s Woolly World
  8. Yoshi’s Crafted World

KIRBY

k adv

Why are there so many Kirby games? The ones on the list are not even all of them. The ones I have played are fun, but this is one I could see getting repetitive. The perfect trio to represent this huge franchise is King Dedede, Meta Knight and, of course, Kirby himself.

  1. Kirby Dream Land
  2. Kirby’s Adventure
  3. Kirby Dream Land 2
  4. Kirby Dream Land 3
  5. Kirby 64: The Crystal Shards
  6. Kirby The Amazing Mirror
  7. Kirby Canvas Curse
  8. Kirby Squeak Squad
  9. Kirby Epic Yarn
  10. Kirby Mass Attack
  11. Kirby Return to Dream Land
  12. Kirby Triple Deluxe
  13. Kirby and the Rainbow Curse
  14. Kirby Planet Robobot
  15. Kirby Star Allies

STAR FOX

s fox 64

Star Fox is one of the first on this list not to be a platformer (besides Zelda). This is the most unique so far (it will get more diverse from this point on). This series is an on rail shooter, basically a Star Wars X-Wing shooter. I had fun with what I have tried. The three they picked from the wide cast of characters is Fox, Falco and the bad guy, Wolf.

  1. Star Fox
  2. Star Fox 64
  3. Star Fox Adventures
  4. Star Fox Assault
  5. Star Fox Command
  6. Star Fox Zero
  7. Star Fox 2

POKEMON

p sun

Pokemon has always been off to the side, even when I was never really into video games. Mostly due to the fact that all the main games were on a handheld and I have never really been a handheld type of guy. Also, my parents never let me play because of the devil or something. The wide range of characters here are Pikachu, Jigglypuff, Pichu, Mewtwo, Pokemon Trainer (which includes Charmander, Ivysaur and Squirtle), Lucario, Greninja and Incineroar.

  1. Pokémon Red
  2. Gold and Silver/Crystal
  3. Ruby and Sapphire/Emerald
  4. Diamond and Pearl/Platinum
  5. Black and White
  6. X and Y
  7. Sun and Moon
  8. Sword and Shield

EARTHBOUND (MOTHER)

earthbound

The Mother (or Earthbound) series is a very beloved tongue-in-cheek RPG and that is all I know about it. I can’t wait to play them. The characters here are Ness and Lucas who I often confuse for one another. I am not sure if I can play Mother 3 here in the states, but we’ll get there when we get there.

  1. Earthbound Beginnings
  2. Earthbound
  3. Mother 3

F-ZERO

f zero gx

The next series has few games and only one character, Captain Falcon. This is a racing series I love even though I have only played one and a half of the games. It’s a futuristic racer that reaches speeds of almost 1,000 miles an hour. I am looking forward to beating these because it is basically impossible.

  1. F-Zero
  2. F-Zero X
  3. F-Zero Maximum Velocity
  4. F-Zero GX
  5. F-Zero GP Legend

FIRE EMBLEM

fe sd

Next is the Fire Emblem series which started exclusively in Japan until coming to the US for the Game Boy Advanced. Luckily, some of the early ones were remade. This is one that will take a while to beat, but I am already hooked two-thirds the way through one game. There is a load of characters from this series. Here we have Math, Lucina, Roy, Ike, Chrom, Corrin and Robin.

  1. Fire Emblem: Shadow Dragon (Remake)
  2. Fire Emblem: Shadows of Valentia (Remake)
  3. Fire Emblem: New Mystery of the Emblem (Remake)
  4. Fire Emblem
  5. Fire Emblem: The Sacred Stones
  6. Fire Emblem: Path of Radiance
  7. Fire Emblem: Radiant Dawn
  8. Fire Emblem: Awakening
  9. Fire Emblem: Fates
  10. Fire Emblem: Three Houses

KID ICARUS

ki

Kid Icarus is one of the weirdest series on the list. The first one came out on the NES and was  basic, challenging NES game. Then the second one came out on the Game Boy years later. Almost two decades after that the third game came out and totally reinvented the style and gameplay. I don’t understand how this game series survived or got into Smash Bros. but we got three characters. Those being Pit, Dark Pit and Paulentena.

  1. Kid Icarus
  2. Kid Icarus Of Myths and Monsters
  3. Kid Icarus Uprising

WARIO LAND

wario l ii

Wario somehow got two beloved series. He has is more traditional series here is originally took over Mario’s game in Super Mario Land 3. He then had many more games on almost every platform.

  1. Wario Land: Super Mario Land 3
  2. Wario Land II
  3. Wario Land 3
  4. Wario Land 4
  5. Wario: Master of Disguise
  6. Wario World
  7. Wario Land Shake It!

WARIOWARE

ww mm

Then the second series he claimed his name on, and one of my personal favorites is the WarioWare series. This is where you play tons of minigames, all usually three seconds or less and try to understand what is happening and adapt to the increasing speed.

  1. WarioWare, Inc Mega Microgames
  2. WarioWare, Inc. Mega Party Games
  3. WarioWare: Twisted
  4. WarioWare: Touched
  5. WarioWare: Smooth Moves
  6. Game & Wario
  7. WarioWare Gold

METAL GEAR SOLID

mgs ts

Next one is interesting because most of the games are on the PlayStation consoles. There are a ton of games, but only really five on Nintendo consoles and unfortunately they are over $100 to purchase. Obviously, Snake is the playable character.

  1. Metal Gear
  2. Metal Gear 2: Solid Snake
  3. Metal Gear Ghost Babel
  4. Metal Gear Solid: The Twin Snakes
  5. Metal Gear Solid 3 Snake Eater

SONIC

sonic u

Sonic, much like Kirby, has too many games. To lower the amount of games I have to play and give a little bit of diversity to my platformers, I will only be playing the 3D Sonic games. Their reputation is bad, to say the least and that will be fun because most of the games I play will be decent, at worst. I also hope to find plenty of hidden gems along the way. Sonic is the only character that can be played, despite the vast array of choices in the series.

  1. Sonic Adventure
  2. Sonic Adventure 2
  3. Sonic Heroes
  4. Shadow the Hedgehog
  5. Sonic And the secret Rings
  6. Sonic Unleashed
  7. Sonic And the Black Knight
  8. Sonic Colors
  9. Sonic Generations
  10. Sonic Lost World
  11. Sonic Forces

PIKMIN

pikmin

Pikmin rules dude! I love this series and like most fans, pray for a fourth one in the future. The puzzle solving, combat and humor of this series is the one to beat. This might be my favorite series of all them. Olimar is the character in Smash.

  1. Pikmin
  2. Pikmin 2
  3. Pikmin 3
  4. Hey! Pikmin

ANIMIAL CROSSING

 

ac

Scratch that, Animal Crossing is my favorite series. I fell in love with the GameCube one immediately when I played it. The game is basically Sims, but all of your neighbors are animals. There is so much more to it and if I keep explaining it I will seem boring, but believe you me, it will not be. It is however a weird one to play all of the games back to back and “beat” which I have yet to decide what that means. For fun, I have added the side games Happy Home Designer and the heavily molined amiibo Festival. Here we have Villager and Isabelle as representatives.

  1. Animal Crossing
  2. Animal Crossing: Wild World
  3. Animal Crossing: City Folk
  4. Animal Crossing: New Leaf
  5. Animal Crossing: Happy Home Designer
  6. Animal Crossing: Amiibo Festival
  7. Animal Crossing: New Horizons

MEGA MAN

mm 11

Mega Man might be the franchise I am least excited to play. It is just a platformer shooter that is very difficult to beat. I am only playing one through the recently released 11th outing because if not I would have over 1,000 games to play. The only character here is in fact, Mega Man.

  1. Mega Man
  2. Mega Man 2
  3. Mega Man 3
  4. Mega Man 4
  5. Mega Man 5
  6. Mega Man 6
  7. Mega Man 7
  8. Mega Man 8
  9. Mega Man 9
  10. Mega Man 10
  11. Mega Man 11

WII FIT

wii fit

Yes, because I agreed to this task I have to “beat” the Wii Fit series, due to Wii Fit Trainer being playable in Smash. It will be nice to stand after beating so many of these games.

  1. Wii Fit
  2. Wii Fit Plus
  3. Wii Fit U

PUNCH-OUT!!

punch out

Punch-Out!! is hard. I am not looking forward to playing them so much. I think it will be rewarding and teach me more patience though. Little Mac definitely belongs to the series.

  1. Punch Out!! Featuring Mr. Dream
  2. Super Punch Out!!
  3. Punch Out!! Wii

MII GAMES

wii sports

This next one is interesting, They added Mii Brawler, Gunner and Swordsman to the line up of fighters. That was really a grab bag of games that I picked because I wanted to play them.

  1. Wii Sports
  2. Wii Play
  3. Wii Music
  4. Wii Sports Resort
  5. Wii Party
  6. Wii Play Motion
  7. Nintendo Land
  8. Wii Party U
  9. Tomodachi Life

PAC-MAN

pac man w2

Pac-Man games look pretty bad. Not like Sonic where he had good games, but most of them look bad (I guess the arcade games is ok.) Unfortunately, I have to play a lot.

  1. Pac Land
  2. Pac-Man 2: The New Adventures
  3. Pac-In-Time
  4. Ms. Pac-Man Maze Madness
  5. Pac Man World
  6. Pac-n-Roll
  7. Pac-Man World 2
  8. Pac-Man World 3
  9. Pac Man and the Ghostly Adventures
  10. Pac Man and the Ghostly Adventures 2

XENOBLADE CHRONICLES

x c

Xenoblade is a series that I am excited to play. I am only playing three of them and I do not know much about it. I like going into games not knowing much, most of the time I have done way too much research to be surprised. Here with Shulk, I will get to play them.

  1. Xenoblade Chronicles
  2. Xenoblade Chronicles X
  3. Xenoblade Chronicles 2

STREET FIGHTER

sf

Ryu and Ken are from the Street Fighter series. It will be weird playing a fighting game because you want to play characters from a fighting game. I used to play X-Men vs. Capcom at the arcade all the time, but haven’t really played a game like that since.

  1. Street Fighter
  2. Street Fighter II
  3. Street Fighter III

FINAL FANTASY

ff 7

Final Fantasy will be a hard series to play all of. The games are all on Nintendo consoles, up to the tenth game. It is on a large variety of consoles and not so readily affordable. Cloud is from the seventh one and the only one is Smash. 

  1. Final Fantasy
  2. Final Fantasy II
  3. Final Fantasy III
  4. Final Fantasy IV
  5. Final Fantasy V
  6. Final Fantasy VI
  7. Final Fantasy VII
  8. Final Fantasy VIII
  9. Final Fantasy IX
  10. Final Fantasy X

BAYONETTA

bayonetta

Bayonetta is a cool looking series. I can’t wait to play them. That’s all.

  1. Bayonetta
  2. Bayonetta 2

SPLATOON

s 2

Splatoon is an incredible series where you play as a kid who is really a squid that shoot ink out of cool looking guns and you play online mostly. I think it might be the coolest looking games on Nintendo. The eight different Inkings you can choose from is pretty exciting.

  1. Splatoon
  2. Splatoon 2

CASTLEVANIA

c.jpg

Castlevania is exciting for me because I have heard of them all my life, but never really played one. When Simon and Richtor were announced I didn’t even really know who they were. I am excited to see what is in store. Due to the overabundance of games I have narrowed it down to a meer fifteen.

  1. Castlevania:
  2. Castlevania II: Simon’s Quest
  3. Castlevania III: Dracula’s Curse
  4. Castlevania: The Adventure
  5. Super Castlevania: IV
  6. Castlevania: Belmont’s Revenge
  7. Castlevania: The Adventure Rebirth
  8. Castlevania: Legacy of Darkness
  9. Castlevania: Circle of the Moon
  10. Castlevania: Aria of Sorrow
  11. Castlevania: Harmony of Dissonance
  12. Castlevania: Portrait of Ruin
  13. Castlevania: Dawn of Sorrow
  14. Castlevania: Order of Ecclesia
  15. Castlevania: Judgement

PERSONA

p q

Persona is a tough game to play on Nintendo consoles. There is only two and I barely know how they fit in to the overall series. Joker is a fine addition to the roster.

  1. Persona Q: Shadow of the Labyrinth
  2. Persona Q2: New Cinema Labyrinth

DRAGON QUEST

dq 11

These bonus fighters being announced for Smash are making me nervous. When I heard The Hero was coming to the game, I freaked out a little bit. There are eleven games in the series and all take a while to beat. Oh, well.

  1. Dragon Quest
  2. Dragon Quest II
  3. Dragon Quest III
  4. Dragon Quest IV
  5. Dragon Quest V
  6. Dragon Quest VI
  7. Dragon Quest VII
  8. Dragon Quest VIII
  9. Dragon Quest IX
  10. Dragon Quest X
  11. Dragon Quest XI

BANJO-KAZOOIE

bk

Banjo-Kazooie looks fun. Not sure how I’ll play them without purchasing the 64 cartridges, but we’ll see when I get there.

  1. Banjo-Kazooie
  2. Banjo-Tooie
  3. Banjo-Kazooie: Grunty’s Revenge

FATAL FURY

ffury

Terry from Fatal Fury was an interesting choice. I don’t know much, but here we are with another arcade style fighting game. I am only playing three of them.

  1. Fatal Fury
  2. Fatal Fury 2
  3. Garou: Mark of the Wolves

Characters omitted from having a game to represent them are the Ice Climbers, Mr Game & Watch (who really lives on through WarioWare), R.O.B. (who doesn’t really have a game) and Duck Hunt. Ice Climbers and Duck Hunt are cool characters, but the games are too arcade like, which is why I am not playing Pac-Man or the original Donkey Kong.

 

Leave a comment